ok so i tried to download GIMP using the link that it showed me and my McAfee internet security came up and said that it was a dangerous download so i didn’t download it, does anyone know if this is true as i don’t want to virus up my laptop.
BQ: Can anyone give me a direct link to the download link as i got led to a weirdly named site
thanks in advance

the main site for Gimp is valid,
Sourceforge is a weirdly redirect site for download files,
if you are able to access that location later,
you can search for other open source tools,
GIMP – http://www.gimp.org/
Gimp ~ Winhttp://gimp-win.sourceforge.net/stable.h…
GIMP on OS Xhttp://gimp.lisanet.de/Website/Download.…
GIMP+GTK installers for Windowshttp://sourceforge.net/projects/gimp-win…
G’MIC : GREYC’s Magic Image Converter http://registry.gimp.org/node/13469
UFRaw -for Gimphttp://ufraw.sourceforge.net/index.html
HDR image processing toolkit http://sourceforge.net/projects/magie/
________
you mention CNET ~ it is safe, http://www.cnet.com/1770-5_1-0.html?quer…
verify which version , it may be an advertisement that is blocking download or creating warning,
or you may have cookies that are creating problems,
or some administrative access on computer is blocking site,
PhotoPlushttp://www.freeserifsoftware.com/softwar…
Photofiltrehttp://photofiltre.free.fr/frames_en.htm
..
It’s completely safe to download , don’t worry
http://www.gimp.org/downloads/ is the
You should visit their main website to download it
from there to be sure it’s not someone’s uploaded
.exe file
main website’s download page! hope it helped! :]
perfectly fine. link in the sources.
http://www.gimp.org/
Yes it is safe.